Skip to content

Obama Website Issues Death Threat To Wilkes-Barre PA Radio Personality

June 17, 2008

From WILK-FM 103.1

The mystery death threat is no longer a mystery.

I still don’t know who wants me dead. But I do now know how the email came through an official Barack Obama for president website, a new website designed to head off ugly rumors about Obama and his wife, Michelle – a website theoretically designed to help stop the campaign madness.
Instead, it launched more madness – this time directed at a member of the media who opposes Obama as the Democratic nominee and supports Hillary Clinton. I say this time because I don’t know if anyone else has used the “http://www.fightthesmears.com” website to threaten anyone the way I was threatened.
That’s why I called Obama’s Chicago headquarters Friday and talked with Obama spokeswoman Priya Singh about fighting the smears by stopping the death threats. Obama has enough trouble as it is without people accusing him of allowing his official campaign website to facilitate threats to kill somebody who disagrees with him.
Singh offered to do what she could to find out how the email to me carried the same “barackobama.com” email tagline as does the official campaign correspondence. I promised to get back to Singh today with more information. And do I have information.
After talking about the matter on “Corbett” Friday, Hillary supporters who were listening on their computers across the country emailed me to offer help. Several listeners explained very clearly that my death threat email looked like it came through the official Obama website because it came through the official Obama campaign website.
Although I’m relatively low-tech – unlike the young, hip, Internet techies who helped push Obama’s campaign to a new world political level – when I went to the website I immediately saw what happened.
An email option appears on the right side of the screen as a way to share Obama’s explanation of the smear with friends, neighbors and even people you don’t know – maybe even people you hate. You simply type in the email address of the person or persons you want to receive the explanation. Then type your own name as the sender. Then press send and Obama’s explanation is received loud and clear, complete with the official “barackobama.com” signature.
Another more nefarious option exists, however. Enter an email address and anybody’s name as the sender. Use the name Barack Obama, Michelle or even Axelrod if you like. Then click on the first letter of the first word in Obama’s explanation of the smear. Go to the delete key and erase the campaign message. Then add you own message – maybe something like “We will kill you when Obama become PRESIDENT OF USA.”
That’s the message I received.
Press send and before you can say “A contribution to the Obama campaign can be made in lieu of flowers,” the email is received at the other end.
I tested the website and sent myself an email signed “Barack Obama.”
“Will you be my vice president?” I wrote. Within minutes I received the email that came right through Obama’s official “fight the smears” server. Doesn’t Obama assign some hip computer wizard to control that site?
Doesn’t Obama assign anybody to monitor the messages?
Can’t Obama stop the smears?
I hope so.
I’m still considering whether to file an official complaint with police because I still want to know who threatened to kill me. I need to know if the person is a local listener trying to be funny, somebody in need of medical attention, or somebody who is actually trying to scare me into silence.
A death threat is always serious. I even hesitated to forward a copy of the threatening email to Obama’s campaign headquarters in Chicago for fear that somebody would misinterpret the intent and take it as a threat against the candidate.
Maybe I should let the FBI handle all future correspondence. I’ve already done Obama a big favor by alerting the campaign to this awful glitch.Now he can do one for us. Obama can make sure that his campaign doesn’t do more harm than it has already done.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Paul Zannucci permalink
    June 17, 2008 7:51 pm

    That’s an amazing story. I would be tempted to say that there’s a nut in every group, but Obama seems to have more than his fair share.

  2. No Sheeples Here! permalink
    June 17, 2008 11:10 pm

    I couldn’t agree with you more, Paul. Thanks for checking in.

  3. nurseratchet permalink
    June 17, 2008 11:28 pm

    STEVE, SORRY TO HEAR THAT YOU HAVE JOINED THE GROWING LIST OF PEOPLE WHO HAVE RECEIVED DEATH THREATS FROM THE OBAMA CAMP. OTHER NEW MEMBERS ARE REV. DAVID MANNING, HARLEM, NY AND LARRY SINCLAIR, DULUTH, MN. THE FBI JUST MADE CONTACT WITH A PERSON WHO THREATENED MR. SINCLAIR. DESPITE THE THREATS, LARRY SINCLAIR WILL HOLD HIS PRESS CONFERENCE WEDNESDAY, JUNE 18TH AND THE NATIONAL PRESS CLUB IN D.C. SECURITY WILL BE HEAVY. LET FREEDOM OF SPEECH CONTINUE IN OUR COUNTRY!

  4. NYSmike permalink
    June 18, 2008 4:56 pm

    The campaign will take no responsibility for anything so I would let the FBI handle it. Remember, Obama takes no responsibilty for what his supporters say, what his campaign says, what forms his surrogates fill out, etc. He’ll say if it didn’t come from his mouth it’s not his thinking. At the same time he’ll allow it to circulate to achieve its required damage. That’s BO for you!

Leave a comment